Universiti Putra Malaysia Sarawak campus relocated to its permanent site in Bintulu, Sarawak in June, 1987 Semenggok, Kuching.

On 27th August, 1987, Universiti Pertanian Malaysia Sarawak was officially established as a branch campus with 3 centres of learning – Applied Sciences, Basic Sciences and Social Sciences and Management.

Three Diploma-level programs were on offer namely the Diploma in Agriculture, Diploma in Forestry and Diploma in Agribusiness programs, as well as an initiation program.

After operating for several years, on September, 1994, the campus was ‘temporarily’ closed down and brought under the wing of the Malaysia Ministry of Education to be converted into a temporary site for a teacher’s training college.

The Department of Basic Sciences and Engineering – one of the department that still exist in the campus today.

UPM Bintulu branch campus library – is almost rivaled the size of it main campus library in Serdang, Selangor.

However, under a directive by the Cabinet, UPM Bintulu was reopened on November 5th, 2001.

The first batch of students for the November 2001/2002 semester numbered at 242 students who enrolled in the Diploma in Agriculture, Diploma in Forestry and Diploma in Engineering (Emergency and Safety) programs.

More photos at – Photographer Journal