Yang diPertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin on Friday presented the instrument of appointment to Yang Dipertua Negeri Sarawak Tun Abang Muhammad Salahuddin Abang Barieng (pic) to extend his tenure by another year.

The ceremony at the Istana Negara, here was also attended by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud, Chief Justice Tan Sri Zaki Tun Azmi, Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan, Attorney-General Tan Sri Abdul Gani Patail and several other dignitaries.

Abang Muhammad Salahuddin, 87, was appointed the sixth Yang Dipertua Negeri Sarawak in 2001, succeeding Tun Ahmad Zaidi Adruce Mohamed Noor who died in 2000. In 2004 and 2006, his tenure of service was extended for two years.

Abang Muhamad Salahuddin had previously served as the third Yang Dipertua Negeri Sarawak from 1977 to 1981, making him the first person to hold the post twice.

Before holding the post, Abang Muhammad Salahuddin had served as a member and later Chairman of the Sarawak Public Services Commission from 1974 to 1977. – Bernama