The Perak government no longer recognises Jamaluddin Mohd Radzi and Mohd Osman Mohd Jailu as the Behrang and Changkat Jering assemblymen respectively.

“Therefore, the two assemblymen will not be allowed to attend the coming state assembly sittings,” Perak Assembly Speaker V. Sivakumar told reporters at the residence of the Menteri Besar, here, tonight.

He said the two assemblymen would also automatically cease to be state executive councillors and their duties would be taken over by others to be decided at the coming state executive council meeting.

Sivakumar said the decision on Jamaluddin and Mohd Osman was made as he did not recognise the Election Commission’s (EC) decision today that the seats were not vacant but still held by the two assemblymen.

He said he still stood by his earlier statement that the two assemblymen had submitted their resignation letters.

At the same press conference, Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin said the state government would challenge the EC’s decision in court after 48 hours.

Asked whether he would carry out the plan in view of DAP national chairman Karpal Singh’s statement that challenging the EC’s decision would be futile, the Menteri Besar said the state government would go ahead as the facts in the case of the two Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) assemblymen were different from the 1982 case mentioned by Karpal.

The EC decided today that the Changkat Jering (N14) and Behrang (N59) state seats were not vacant and still held by the incumbent assemblymen.

EC chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusuf said this was because there were doubts over the two letters of resignation as assemblymen said to be submitted by Jamaluddin and Mohd Osman to the Perak Speaker.