Pakatan Rakyat (PR) will stick to the general election status quo when choosing candidates for the Bukit Gantang and Bukit Selambau by-elections in Perak and Kedah.

PAS vice president Datuk Husam Musa said PR had agreed to put up a PAS candidate for Bukit Gantang parliamentary and a Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) candidate for the Bukit Selambau state seat.

“The candidates’ names will be announced at a suitable time,” he told reporters after opening a PR workshop here today.

The Bukit Gantang seat fell vacant with the death of Roslan Shaharum of PAS while the Bukit Selambau seat was vacated by V Arumugam of PKR.

The Election Commission (EC) had announced that the two by-elections would be held simultaneously on April 7. Nomination day had been fixed for March 29.

Roslan, 50, won the Bukit Gantang seat after beating Umno treasurer Datuk Abdul Azim Zabidi of BN and independent M Murganan.

He won with a 1,566 majority.

Arumugam, 55, who contested as an independent won the Bukit Selambau seat after beating S Krishnan of BN with a 7,695 majority.

He then joined PKR and was appointed a Kedah State Executive Council member.