Sabah emerged as the ‘real’ winner of the just announced Najib’s ‘new cabinet’ which consisted of 28 ministers and 40 deputy ministers today.

Sabah lawmakers have been unusually vocal of federal since last year Barisan Nasional’s dismal performance was given four senior portfolios.

Datuk Anifah is probably the most prominent new member of the Cabinet and was given the plum Foreign Ministry portfolio.

On March 19, Datuk Anifah Aman sprang a surprise by turning down his appointment as Deputy Transport Minister in the new Cabinet line-up announced by the then Prime Minister Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Besides Anifah, the other three Sabah ministers are Tan Sri Bernard Dompok, Maximus Ongkili and Datuk Shafie Apdal.

Bernard Dompok is given the Plantation Industries and Commodoties, while Shafie Apdal leading Rural and Regional Development and Dr Maximus Ongkili retained his Science, Tech and Innovation portfolio.