Peter Nyarok seated on the left and his challenger Philip Ngo seated right. Nyarok defeated Ngo with 135 majority.

Challenged Sarawak Progressive Democratic Party deputy president Datuk Peter Nyarok has retained his party post.

Nyarok beat his sole challenger, Philip Ngo, with a thumping majority of 135 votes at the party’s triennial general assembly on Tuesday. The state Assistant Minister of Modernisation of Agriculture secured 201 votes against 66 obtained by Ngo, a former deputy leader of SPDP Youth.

Party president Datuk Seri William Mawan and two senior vice-presidents, Datuk Jacob Sagan, who is also the deputy international trade and industry minister, and Datuk Peter Nansian, an assistant minister of environment, won their respective posts uncontested at the close of nominations for various contested posts in the party.

Bintulu member of parliament and Barisan Nasional Backbenchers’ Council chairman Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing was returned unopposed as treasurer-general.

The three posts are being contested by Deputy Home Minister Jelaing Mersat, Mas Gading MP Datuk Dr Tiki Lafe, Ba’Kelalan state assemblyman Nelson Balang Rining and medical practitioner Dr Roland Dom Matu.

Jelaing and Dr Tiki are the incumbent vice-presidents. A total of 35 candidates are also vying for the 14 seats in the supreme council.