The nomination day for Sibu parliamentary by-election today went peacefully, free any incidents according to the police.

Bintulu coverage of the nomination day ended few hours ago. We would also like to thank you for checking this page for updates, happenings since this morning.

4.28 pm: Penang CM Twitter: Political milestone wid 1st Swk PRcandidate.BN leading.Win/lose 2party system era begins in swk.Real battle 4 nxt gen elect starts now!

3.45 pm: UMNO Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin with unidentified persons at Sibu Nomination Day today.

Photo: KJ

3.19 pm: Anwar Ibrahim Twitter: Otw to Sibu.Azizah at the nominations centre.PR must work hard to ensure Wong(Dap)’s victory!

3.18 pm: Peter Chin Fah Kui Twitter: By-elections which commences in earnest today following the nomination process will see a tough fight.

1.28 pm: Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin unlike his boss is not that tech savvy. Look at his Twitter account here – screenshot below:

DPM Muhyiddin Yassin Twitter account

1.17 pm: : Yet to get confirmation from those in ground zero. Bernama reported good turnout by BN supporters 5,000. But this Ng Wei Aik ground zero photo contradict that report. Look at the photo below.

The so called 5,000 BN supporters Bernama reported?

12.47 pm: PKR support held by police. Elizabeth Wong tweeted “One of our PKR youth activists arrested by police outside nomination centre for shouting “Najib…Altantuya”. Now at police station.

12.30 pm: On the way out of Dewan Suarah – Elizabeth Wong, a Selangor Exco members tweets: Police stopped our cars to the side to allow DPM & his entourage of 16 cars to overtake.

12.20 pm: Afternoon break. Supporters, candidates head for lunch.

11.58 am: Election Commission party supporter PASS. You need this pass to get near the nomination center.

Party supporter Pass issued by Election Commission.

11.46 am: Pakatan Rakyat DAP candidate Wong Ho Leng accompanied by PR leaders, Guang Eng, Kit Siang, Khalid, Wan Azizah held first press conference after the nomination day.

Pakatan Rakyat first press conference after nomination completed.

11.42 am: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib and opposition leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim are notable absentees at the nomination. Najib just tweeted – Selesai menghadiri perhimpunan Hari Pekerja 2010 anjuran Kementerian Sumber Manusia di Mines Resort City pagi tadi.

11.35 am: DAP supremo Lim Kit Siang tweets: P212 Sibu Returning Officer announces 3 candidates DAP/PR SUPP/BN Independent Let Battle of Century 4Sibu Sarawak Malaysia begin! Returning officer Wong See Meng confirmed all three candidates (Wong Ho Leng (PR-DAP), Robert Lau Hui Yew (BN-SUPP) and Narawi Bin Haron (Independent) to contest in Sibu parliamentary by-election on May 16.

The three candidates Narawi (Independent) Robert Lau Hui Yew (BN-SUPP) and Wong Ho Leng (PR-DAP)

11.30 am: Members of the press covering Nomination Day of Sibu by-election.

The media - both the old (TV, Print) and new media - online news websites

11.20 am: Confirmed candidates are Wong Ho Leng (PR-DAP) and Robert Lau (BN-SUPP). But a third candidate and Independent Narawi Bin Haron also likely to join the contest. Returning officer to announce.

Screenshot of Narawi Bin Haron - nomination paper

10.00 am: The nomination process for the May 16 Sibu by-election started at 9am at the Sibu Civic Centre, today.

The nomination period is for one hour from 9am, following which there will be an objection period of an hour, after which the candidates for the May 16 by-election will be announced by returning officer Wong See Meng.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin led the BN toward nomination center.

Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin led the Barisan Nasional (BN) camp from the Delta Estate, about two kilometres away, to the nomination centre while the DAP side came from the Rajang Park in front of the Zinith-Minth cinema.

The BN has named Robert Lau Hui Yew, 45, as its candidate while DAP has chosen Wong Ho Leng, 50, who is also Bukit Assek state assemblyman. Photos of the action on BN side – to come.

Below are photos from the Pakatan Rakyat source. Wong Ho Leng PR DAP candidate was led by its Chairman Penang Chief Minister Lim Guan Eng to the nomination center. Several PR leaders were also seen on the ground zero including Selangor Menteri Besar Tan Sri Khalid, Lim Kit Siang.

Dewan Suarah Sibu - the nomination center

Pakatan leaders including Penang Chief Minister Guan Eng and Selangor MB - Khalid, Kit Siang

Vote SUPP equal to a vote for Taib

Reporting from ground zero Tonny Ung and others