The current Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the Sultan of Kedah, Sultan Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah will succeed Tuanku Mizan Zainal will be the 14th Yang di-Pertuan Agong beginning December 13, 2011 The Conference of Rulers has agreed.

Sultan Abdul Halim

This will represent Sultan Abdul Halim’s second turn as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the first being from September 21, 1970, to September 20, 1975.

He is also the only ruler to fulfil the role for a second time, national news agency Bernama reported.

Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terengganu, completes his term as the 13th Yang di-Pertuan Agong at the end of the year.

Today’s elections were held in accordance with the Third Schedule of the Federal Constitution at a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers that convened at Istana Negara.

The meeting was chaired by the Sultan of Perak, Sultan Azlan Shah, and was attended by all the Malay Rulers except the Sultan of Pahang, Sultan Ahmad Shah.

Sultan Abdul Halim, who was born on November 28, 1927, at Istana Anak Bukit in Alor Setar, ascended the Kedah throne on July 14, 1958, following the death of his father, Sultan Badlishah.

He graduated from Wadham College, University of Oxford, in the United Kingdom, with a degree in social science and public administration. He joined the Kedah Civil Service in the 1950s.

Meanwhile, the Sultan of Kelantan, Sultan Muhammad V, will be the next Deputy Yang di-Pertuan Agong, a statement issued by the Prime Minister’s Office confirmed today.

The sultan, who is chancellor of Universiti Malaysia Kelantan, was born in Kota Baru on October 6, 1969 and was proclaimed the 29th Sultan of Kelantan on September 13 last year.