The Bukit Gelugor parliamentary by-election on May 25 is a four-cornered contest among the DAP, Parti Cinta Malaysia (PCM) and two independent candidates.

The candidates are Ramkarpal Singh, 38, of the DAP, PCM vice-president Datuk Huan Cheng Guan, 53, and independents Mohamed Nabi Bux Mohd Nabi Abdul Sathar, 63, and Abu Backer Sidek Mohamad Zan, 46, announced returning officer Capt (Rtd) Anuar Yahya.

Mohamed Nabi Bux will use the flower symbol and Abu Backer Sidek, the horse.

Barisan Nasional (BN) did not field a candidate after the MCA decided not to contest the by-election.

DAP candidate Ramkarpal Singh left.

Parti Cinta Malaysia vice-president Datuk Huan Cheng Guan center. PCM candidate.

Independent candidate Mohamed Nabi Bux Mohd Nabi Abdul Sathar

Anuar announced the candidates at 10.15 am after the close of nomination at the Dewan Sri Pinang here.

Huan submitted his nomination papers at 9.01 am, Mohamed Nabi Bux at 9.02 am, Ramkarpal Singh at 9.13 am and Abu Backer Sidek at 9.41 am. Polling is on May 25.

The seat fell vacant following the death of the MP and Ramkarpal Singh’s father, Karpal Singh of the DAP, in an accident on the North-South Expressway near Gua Tempurung in Kampar, Perak, on April 17.

Karpal Singh, who was a former DAP chairman, won the seat in the 2013 general election with a majority of 42,706 votes, beating BN candidate Teh Beng Yeam, who polled 13,597 votes. — BERNAMA